1-800-680-4106 office@gotouaa.org




The UAA recognizes those who have made significant contributions to the field of Utility Arboriculture. It’s one small way that the organization can show appreciation to those individuals who have contributed to the advancement of the profession.

These at-large recognitions include:

  • Utility Arborist – Presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the field of Utility Arboriculture.
  • Education Award – Honors an individual who has added to the knowledge and practices of the Utility Arborist.
  • Lifetime Achievement – Recognizes the person who has reached many milestones during his/her career as a Utility Arborist.
  • Rising Star – Given to individuals who are relatively early in their career yet have already shown leadership of the organization and the industry.
Silver Shield Award: is presented to a person who is on the front line of safety and may have official or unofficial roles within an organization. They influence and promote a safety culture at every turn.

Rising Star Award

2017 Eric Brown

2016 Brandon Hughson

2015  Joel Smith and Sara Sankowich

2014  Tim Lawyer

Silver Shield Safety Champion Award

2017 Richard Zito and Bob Gordon

2016  Kevin Meyer and Will Nutter

PinE Award

2017 PG&E, ACRT, Davey, Xcel Energy, Asplundh, CNUC, ECI Consulting, Lewis Tree and Wright Tree

2016  ACRT, CNUC, PG&E, Trees Inc.

Utility Arborist Award

2017 Paul Appelt

2016 Geoff Kempter

2015  Brian Skinner

2014  James Barnhart

2013  James S. Downie

2012  Stephen Tankersley

2011  Ward Peterson

2010  Pedro Castro

2009  Jennifer Arkett

2008  Dale Crutchfield

2007  Brian Fisher

2006  Michael Neal

2005  Matt Simons

2004  Tom Sullivan

2003  Steve Cieslewicz

2002  Steve Hallmark

2001  Phil Charlton

2000  Bill Massey

1999  Galen Wright

1998  Kevin Eckert

1997  Ray Henning

1996  John Goodfellow

1995  Eric Ulrich

1994  Mike Watson

Lifetime Achievement Award

2017 Nelsen Money

2016 Ward Peterson

2015  Mike Neil and Kevin McLoughlin

2014  Larry Abernathy

2013  Ray Henning

2012  H. Lynn Grayson

2011  Richard Alt

2010  Billy Mills

2009  Howard Bowles

2008  Weston J. Davis

2007  Jeffrey Smith

2006  Kenneth Finch

2005  Jim Barnhart

2004  Kenneth Carvell

2003  John Elsesser

2002  Robert Tate

2001  Mike Watson

2000  Richard Wells

1999  Jim Orr

1998  Dennis Holewinski

1997  Neil Thiessen

1996  Richard Abbott

Education Award Honors

2017 Neil Theissen

2016 Robert Young

2015  Dr. Chris Nowak

2014  Nelsen Money

2013  Richard Yarnell

2012  Siegfried Guggenmoos

2011  Randall H. Miller

2010  Randall Swanson

2009  John Goodfellow

2008  Dave Krause and Joseph Lentz

2007  William R. Chaney

2006  H. Lynn Grayson

2005  Geoffrey Kempter

2004  Logan Norris

2003  Rick Johnstone

2002  Harvey Holt

2001  Richard Abbott

2000  Kenneth Carvell

1999  Don Ham

1998  Henry Gerhold

1997  Richard Byrnes

1996  William Bramble

1995  Alex Shigo

1994  Keith Jones

Presidents Award

2017 Nelsen Money

2016 Rich Hendler