800-680-4106 office@gotouaa.org

Awards & Recognition

The UAA awards those who have made significant contributions to the field of Utility Arboriculture. It’s one small way that the organization can show appreciation to those individuals who have contributed to the advancement of the profession.


The Lifetime Achievement Award acknowledges the person who has reached many milestones during his/her career as a Utility Arborist.

2023 Dan Marsh

2022 Jon Pancoast

2021 Joseph F. Tommasi

2020 Tom Wolf

2019 Jennifer Arkett

2018 Lynn Grayson

2017 Nelsen Money

2016 Ward Peterson

2015  Kevin McLoughlin

2014  Larry Abernathy

2013  Ray Henning

2012  H. Lynn Grayson

2011  Richard Alt

2010  Billy Mills

2009  Howard Bowles

2008  Weston J. Davis

2007  Jeffrey Smith

2006  Kenneth Finch

2005  Jim Barnhart

2004  Kenneth Carvell

2003  John Elsesser

2002  Robert Tate

2001  Mike Watson

2000  Richard Wells

1999  Jim Orr

1998  Dennis Holewinski

1997  Neil Thiessen

1996  Richard Abbott

1995  Ruffin Van Bossuyt

1994  Hyland Johnson


The Will Nutter Silver Shield Award is given to a person who is on the front line of safety and may have official or unofficial roles within an organization. They influence and promote a safety culture at every turn.  In 2016, the UAA Silver Shield was created out of ideas that were brought to the UAA Board by then Safety Committee Chair, Will Nutter.   Will stood out as an advocate for safety and was a key player in the development of the UAA Safety Summits that focuses attention on bringing together a group of utility vegetation high performers and developing best practices, educating workers, as well as proactively addressing safety which transcends competitive boundaries. This is the very space in which the Silver Shield was created from. On September 16th, 2021 we lost Will due to injuries he sustained in a motorcycle accident. Though we cannot ever replace Will’s unique or one of a kind nature and personality, we can forever commemorate all he stood for. On September 27th, 2021, the UAA Board of Directors voted unanimously to change the name of this award to the Will Nutter Silver Shield Award.

2023 Adrienne Jones and Jerry Staton

2022  Dwight Carter and Tim Walsh

2021 Dan Mekkes, Bob Urban

2020 Johnny Wilson

2019 Mark Kimbrough and Jim Lowell

2018 Gerry Breton, Tracy Hawks, Paul Hurysz, and Keith Pancake

2017 Richard Zito and Bob Gordon

2016  Kevin Meyer and Will Nutter


The President’s Award is given by the outgoing president to recognize individuals they felt assisted them or the industry in extraordinary ways before, during and after their term of office.

2023 Diona Neeser and Renee Phillips

2022 Jim Neeser

2021 Philip Charlton

2020 Larry Abernathy

2019 Stan Vera Art

2018 Jim Barnhart

2017 Nelsen Money

2016 Rich Hendler

2015 Mike Neil


The Rising Star Award is given to individuals who are relatively early in their career yet have shown leadership within the UAA organization and the industry.

2023 Phil Swart

2022 Shawn Huff

2021 Carly Harrower

2020 Maegan Mullinax

2019 Lindsey Boyle

2018 Josh Beaver

2017 Eric Brown

2016 Brandon Hughson

2015  Joel Smith and Sara Sankowich

2014  Tim Lawyer


The Education Award recognizes an individual who has added to the knowledge and practices of the Utility Arborist.

2023 Dr. Robert Vanderhoof

2022 The UVM Podcast

2021 Michael Thiffault

2020 Steven Kerr

2019 Renee Bissett

2018 Geoff Kempter

2017 Neil Theissen

2016 Robert Young

2015 Dr. Chris Nowak

2014  Nelsen Money

2013  Richard Yarnell

2012  Siegfried Guggenmoos

2011  Randall H. Miller

2010  Randall Swanson

2009  John Goodfellow

2008  Dave Krause

2007  Joseph Lentz

2006  Lynn Grayson

2005  Geoffrey Kempter

2004  Logan Norris

2003  Rick Johnstone

2002  Harvey Holt

2001  Richard Abbott

2000  Kenneth Carvell

1999  Don Ham

1998  Henry Gerhold

1997  Richard Byrnes

1996  William Bramble

1995  Alex Shigo

1994  Keith Jones


The Utility Arborist Award is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the field of Utility Arboriculture.

2023 Troy Ross

2022 Randy Miller

2021 Rafael Estevez

2020 Stan Vera Art

2019 Rebecca Spach

2018 Paul Hurysz

2017 Paul Appelt

2016 Geoff Kempter

2015  Brian Skinner

2014  James Barnhart

2013  James S. Downie

2012  Stephen Tankersley

2011  Ward Peterson

2010  Pedro Castro

2009  Jennifer Arkett

2008  Dale Crutchfield

2007  Brian Fisher

2006  Michael Neal

2005  Matt Simons

2004  Tom Sullivan

2003  Steve Cieslewicz

2002  Steve Hallmark

2001  Phil Charlton

2000  Bill Massey

1999  Galen Wright

1998  Kevin Eckert

1997  Ray Henning

1996  John Goodfellow

1995  Eric Ulrich

1994  Mike Watson


The Utility Arborist Association is the leading organization for the enhancement of quality utility arboriculture and rights-of-way management. Our success relies on the support we receive from all our members, sponsors, and volunteers. Companies that go above and beyond to support our mission will be recognized annually. UAA membership, sponsorship, advertising, active committee volunteerism, and many other means have been quantified and assigned a value, all adding up to equal your PinE Score. This is reviewed and scored by a committee of industry peers based on all the listed items for the previous fiscal year. The award is formally presented at the Trees & Utilities Conference.


2022  Platinum:
Pacific Gas & Electric

2022 Silver:
ArborMetrics Solutions
Asplundh Tree Expert Co.
CN Utility Consulting
Corteva Agriscience
Duke Energy
Environmental Consultants, Inc.
HUB International
Wright Tree Service, Inc.

2022 Honorable Mention:
Penn Line Service, Inc.
GeoSpatial Innovations, Inc.
Grow With Trees

2022 Gold:
ACRT & ACRT Pacific
The Davey Tree Expert Company & The Davey Resource Group

2022 Bronze:
Lewis Tree Service, Inc.

2022 Honorable Mention Cont’d:
Rainbow Treecare Scientific
Terra Spectrum Technologies
Treecare of New York
Xylem Tree Experts


2021  Platinum:
Pacific Gas & Electric

2021 Silver:
American Forests
CN Utility Consulting, Inc.
Environmental Consultants, Inc.
The Davey Resource Group

2021 Honorable Mention:
Asplundh Tree Expert, LLC.
Clearion Software
Corteva Agriscience
First Energy
Grow with Trees
HUB International

2021 Gold:
ACRT & ACRT Pacific

2021 Bronze:
ArborMetrics Solutions
Duke Energy
Lewis Tree Service, Inc.
Wright Tree Service, Inc.

2021 Honorable Mention Cont’d:
Nelson Tree
North American Training Solutions
Rainbow Tree Company
San Diego Gas & Electric
Terra Spectrum Technologies
The Townsend Corp
Weed Control, Inc.
Xylem Tree Experts


2020 Platinum:
Pacific Gas & Electric

2020 Silver:
American Forests
CN Utility Consulting, Inc.
Environmental Consultants, Inc.

2020 Honorable Mention:
Asplundh Tree Expert Co.
Clearion Software
Corteva Agriscience
First Energy
Grow with Trees
HUB International
Nelson Tree

2020 Gold:
ACRT & ACRT Pacific

2020 Bronze:
Duke Energy
Lewis Tree Service
Wright Tree Service

2020 Honorable Mention Cont’d:
North American Training Solutions
Rainbow Tree Company
San Diego Gas & Electric
Terra Spectrum Technologies
The Townsend Corp
Weed Control, Inc.
Xylem Tree Experts


2019 ACRT; Asplundh; Davey; ArborMetrics; CNUC; ECI; PG&E; Mowbray’s Tree; Wright Tree; Ecology and Environment, Inc.; Jacobs; Lewis Tree Service; Nelson; NiSource; Trees, Inc.


2018 Mowbray Tree; PG&E; ACRT; Davey, Asplundh; Wright Tree; Lewis Tree; National Grid; Xcel Energy; CNUC; Nelson Tree; Trees, LLC; Altec; Southco Industries; ECI Consulting


2017 PG&E, ACRT, Davey, Xcel Energy, Asplundh, CNUC, ECI Consulting, Lewis Tree and Wright Tree


2016  ACRT, CNUC, PG&E, Trees Inc.









Contact Us

Contact Us

Office Hours

Monday - Friday 8:00AM/CST- 5:00PM/CST


2009 W. Broadway Ave, Suite 400
PMB 315
Forest Lake, MN 55025

Additional Info

Phone: 800-680-4106
Email: office@gotouaa.org